camera identify
Essayer gratuitement
tab list
PictureThis
Français
arrow
English
繁體中文
日本語
Español
Français
Deutsch
Pусский
Português
Italiano
한국어
Nederlands
العربية
Svenska
Polskie
ภาษาไทย
Bahasa Melayu
Bahasa Indonesia
PictureThis
Search
Rechercher des plantes
Essayer gratuitement
Global
Français
English
繁體中文
日本語
Español
Français
Deutsch
Pусский
Português
Italiano
한국어
Nederlands
العربية
Svenska
Polskie
ภาษาไทย
Bahasa Melayu
Bahasa Indonesia
Cette page est mieux présentée dans l'application
about about
À propos
plant_info plant_info
Plus d'infos
distribution_map distribution_map
Répartition
topic topic
FAQ sur l'entretien
more_plants more_plants
Plantes associées
pic top
Herbe de para
Herbe de para
Herbe de para
Herbe de para
Brachiaria mutica
plant_info

Faits intéressants sur Herbe de para

feedback
Commentaires
feedback

Attributs de Herbe de para

Durée de vie
Vivace
Type de plante
Herbe
Période de floraison
Été, Automne
Hauteur de plante
5 m
Diamètre de la fleur
30 cm
Couleur de la fleur
Vert
Type de feuille
Feuilles semi-persistantes

Classification scientifique de Herbe de para

icon
Trouvez vos plantes idéales
Planifiez votre oasis de verdure en fonction de vos critères : type de plantes, sécurité des animaux, niveau de compétence, sites, etc.
distribution

Répartition de Herbe de para

feedback
Commentaires
feedback

Carte de distribution de Herbe de para

distribution map
Indigène
Cultivée
Envahissante
Potentiellement invasive
Exotique
Aucune espèce signalée
habit
question

Questions à propos de Herbe de para

feedback
Commentaires
feedback
Watering Watering Arrosage
Sunlight Sunlight Ensoleillement
Que dois-je faire si j'arrose trop ou pas assez mon site Herbe de para?
Sans un arrosage adéquat, cette belle graminée ornementale ne donnera pas les résultats escomptés. En pleine terre, les problèmes d'arrosage peuvent être résolus, mais dans un conteneur, trop ou pas assez d'eau tuera Herbe de para en un rien de temps. Lorsque Herbe de para ne reçoit pas la bonne quantité d'eau, il peut cesser de pousser. Dans le cas d'un excès d'eau, il commencera à présenter des feuilles jaunes avec des pointes brunes. Un manque d'eau peut entraîner des feuilles tombantes, une faible production de têtes de graines et des feuilles brunies. Si vous pensez que votre Herbe de para a été mal arrosé, la première chose à faire est de déterminer si le problème vient d'un excès ou d'un manque d'eau. Si votre Herbe de para reçoit trop d'eau, arrêtez immédiatement de l'arroser. Il faut parfois des semaines pour que les sols lourds s'assèchent, alors soyez patient. Dès l'apparition de nouvelles pousses, vérifiez l'humidité du sol et décidez s'il faut l'arroser davantage ou non. La solution pour Herbe de para qui reçoit trop peu d'eau est encore plus simple : donnez à l'herbe une bonne gorgée d'eau et voyez si elle se réveille. En gardant tout cela à l'esprit, rappelez-vous qu'un arrosage long et profond est toujours préférable à un grand nombre d'arrosages fréquents et peu profonds. En effet, l'arrosage en profondeur favorise l'enracinement des graminées, ce qui les rend plus résistantes à la sécheresse et moins sujettes aux problèmes liés à l'arrosage.
Lire plus more
A quelle fréquence dois-je arroser mon site Herbe de para?
Les besoins en eau de Herbe de para varient en fonction de l'endroit où il est planté. En général, il faut arroser cette graminée toutes les semaines. Dans les climats chauds, un arrosage une ou deux fois par semaine en été peut s'avérer nécessaire. Dans les climats modérés, un arrosage tous les sept jours ou plus peut suffire. Les graminées en conteneur ont presque toujours besoin d'un arrosage plus fréquent que les graminées en pleine terre. Mais avec une espèce comme celle-ci qui peut prospérer en plein soleil ou à l'ombre, l'emplacement a aussi son importance. Les graminées à l'ombre doivent être arrosées moins souvent que les graminées en pleine terre. Herbe de para Il ne faut les arroser que lorsque le sol est sec. Si vous ne savez pas quand arroser, vous pouvez vous fier à quelques signes clés. Si vous enfoncez votre doigt de quelques centimètres dans le sol, vous saurez si la terre est sèche. Pour une herbe en pot, vous pouvez peser l'herbe avec une balance portable pour voir si elle est légère, mais vous pouvez aussi sentir rapidement si le pot est léger à cause du manque d'eau. Comme pour de nombreux types de graminées, les brins peuvent apparaître pliés en leur centre et plus minces que d'habitude lorsque les racines manquent d'eau. Malgré sa tolérance à la sécheresse, des arrosages réguliers et profonds vous récompenseront par une belle couleur. À l'état sauvage, Herbe de para pousse dans des zones de broussailles ouvertes, où elle est soumise à une chaleur extrême, à un soleil intense et à des pluies intermittentes. Comme cette graminée est résistante à la sécheresse, on peut s'attendre à ne jamais avoir besoin de l'arroser. Mais ne vous laissez pas tromper par sa rusticité, Herbe de para a toujours besoin de soins et d'attention. Même si cette graminée rustique peut supporter des conditions difficiles et sèches, les jardiniers s'accordent à dire qu'elle s'épanouit mieux avec un arrosage régulier. Lorsqu'elle est plantée pour la première fois, Herbe de para aura besoin d'un arrosage plus fréquent jusqu'à ce qu'elle ait établi des racines profondes. Pour Herbe de para en pots, le sol se dessèche rapidement, surtout si le pot est exposé à un soleil chaud et direct pendant une grande partie de la journée. Testez le sol tous les 3 ou 4 jours et n'arrosez que lorsque vous sentez qu'il est sec. Herbe de para ed en pleine terre a généralement besoin de moins d'arrosage, mais cela dépend du sol dans lequel il est cultivé. Un sol argileux lourd retient l'eau pendant longtemps et peut sembler sec à la surface tout en conservant beaucoup d'humidité sous le sol. Les sols sablonneux qui se drainent rapidement doivent être arrosés plus souvent.
Lire plus more
A quoi dois-je faire attention lorsque j'arrose mon site Herbe de para en fonction des saisons, des climats ou des périodes de croissance? ?
Vous pouvez souvent savoir si vous arrosez suffisamment en observant la vitesse de croissance de vos graminées. Herbe de para pendant les mois les plus chauds de l'année et peut doubler de volume en l'espace d'un an. Si le temps est chaud et que l'herbe ne pousse pas vigoureusement, vous devrez peut-être ajuster votre programme d'arrosage. En hiver, vous pouvez vous contenter d'arroser une fois par mois, mais vous devrez quand même toucher le sol pour en vérifier l'humidité. Au cours d'un cycle de croissance (pendant les mois les plus chauds), l'herbe aura besoin de plus d'eau que d'habitude. Mais pendant l'hiver et les mois les plus frais, les besoins en eau seront considérablement réduits. La chose la plus importante à retenir à propos de Herbe de para est qu'il faut toujours laisser le sol dans lequel il est planté sécher complètement avant d'ajouter de l'eau.
Lire plus more
icon
Bénéficiez de conseils et d'astuces pour vos plantes.
Gardez vos plantes heureuses et en bonne santé grâce à notre guide sur l'arrosage, l'éclairage, l'alimentation et bien plus encore.
close
other_plant

Plantes liées à Herbe de para

feedback
Commentaires
feedback
Rivine humble
Rivine humble
L'rivine humble est parfois appelée Baie de corail en raison de ses grappes de fruits semblables à des groseilles. Souvent introduite à des fins ornementales, elle est devenue envahissante: sa dissémination est grandement due aux oiseaux qui mangent est dispersent ses graines. Elle est aussi déclarée nuisible, car elle empêche les plantes autochtones de prospérer.
Mauve des bois
Mauve des bois
La mauve des bois est une plante à fleurs dont la floraison est caractérisée par la forme en cœur de ses pétales. Elle sert surtout de décoration de jardin, et ne pousserait naturellement qu'à proximité d'une habitation présente ou passée. Les petits fruits circulaires de la mauve des bois sont appelés « fromages » ce qui explique l'un de ses noms communs, « Herbe à fromage ».
Molène bouillon blanc
Molène bouillon blanc
Le molène bouillon blanc est une plante dont les fleurs procurent des colorants jaune ou vert, que l'on employait autrefois pour teindre les cheveux et des textiles. Au Moyen Âge, on utilisait sa hampe comme torche et ses feuilles séchées comme mèche pour les bougies. Comme beaucoup de plantes anciennes, le molène bouillon blanc était lié aux sorcières et était largement réputé pour conjurer les mauvais esprits et les malédictions.
Feuille de cuivre asiatique
Feuille de cuivre asiatique
Cette petite plante herbacée annuelle est une mauvaise herbe des jardins et des terrains vagues, originaire d'Asie mais qui s’est naturalisée un peu partout ailleurs. On retrouve fréquemment la Ricinelle australe comme nuisance dans les cultures céréalières.
Hibiscus
Hibiscus
Plante ornementale souvent retrouvée dans les jardins, l'hibiscus est facilement reconnaissable à sa floraison spectaculaire aux couleurs vives. Ces dernières sont d'un aspect assez exotique grâce à la pluralité de leurs couleurs (bleues, roses, blanches ou rouges). Cependant, il est important de bien arroser l'hibiscus en été pour qu’il conserve sa belle apparence.
Arbre a Corail
Arbre a Corail
Cet arbre à fleurs rouges de taille moyenne est très répandu en Asie tropicale en raison de ses graines qui peuvent flotter au gré des courants marins sur de grandes distances. Ses feuilles riches en fibres et en protéines peuvent servir de fourrage pour les animaux. Le arbre a Corail est surtout cultivé comme arbre d'ornement et d'ombrage dans les cultures de caféiers et de cacaoyers mais aussi comme support pour les cultures grimpantes (poivriers, vanillier…).
Sumac vénéneux
Sumac vénéneux
Le sumac vénéneux est une plante dont la caractéristique principale est sa toxicité: toutes les parties de la plante contiennent des huiles volatiles (dont l'urushiol) qui provoquent des réactions allergiques violentes chez l'humain. Étrangement tous les animaux n'y sont pas sensibles (les oiseaux se nourrissent de ses fruits).
Raisin d'amérique
Raisin d'amérique
Le raisin d'amérique est une plante considérée comme invasive dans certaines régions où elle a été introduite comme plante ornementale. Il pousse en effet très vite et aucune autre plante ne peut pousser sous son feuillage. Il exhale une odeur désagréable et est entièrement toxique (baies, feuilles, tiges). Ses baies étaient utilisé au XIXe siècle pour teindre les tissus d'où son appellation de Plante à encre rouge.
Voir plus de plantes
close
product icon
Continuer à lire dans notre application - c'est mieux
Une base de données de plus de 400 000 plantes et des guides illimités à portée de main...
Votre guide absolu sur les plantes
Identifiez et cultivez-vous de la meilleure façon !
product icon
17 000 espèces locales étudiées, et 400 000 espèces dans le monde
product icon
Presque 5 ans de recherche
product icon
Plus de 80 spécialistes en botanique et en jardinage
ad
ad
Un botaniste dans votre poche
Scan the QR code with your phone camera to download the app
À propos
Plus d'infos
Répartition
FAQ sur l'entretien
Plantes associées
Herbe de para
Herbe de para
Herbe de para
Herbe de para
Brachiaria mutica
icon
Identifiez instantanément les plantes en un clin d'œil
Prenez une photo pour identifier instantanément la plante et obtenez rapidement des informations sur la prévention des maladies, les traitements, la toxicité, l'entretien, les utilisations, et le symbolisme, etc.
Télécharger l'application
plant_info

Faits intéressants sur Herbe de para

feedback
Commentaires
feedback

Attributs de Herbe de para

Durée de vie
Vivace
Type de plante
Herbe
Période de floraison
Été, Automne
Hauteur de plante
5 m
Diamètre de la fleur
30 cm
Couleur de la fleur
Vert
Type de feuille
Feuilles semi-persistantes
icon
Enrichissez vos connaissances sur les plantes
Explorez une encyclopédie botanique riche pour une compréhension plus approfondie
Télécharger l'application

Classification scientifique de Herbe de para

icon
Ne manquez plus jamais une tâche d'entretien !
L'entretien des plantes est plus facile que jamais grâce à nos rappels d'entretien intelligents et personnalisés.
Télécharger l'application
distribution

Répartition de Herbe de para

feedback
Commentaires
feedback

Carte de distribution de Herbe de para

distribution map
Indigène
Cultivée
Envahissante
Potentiellement invasive
Exotique
Aucune espèce signalée
question

Questions à propos de Herbe de para

feedback
Commentaires
feedback
Watering Watering Arrosage
Sunlight Sunlight Ensoleillement
Que dois-je faire si j'arrose trop ou pas assez mon site Herbe de para?
more
A quelle fréquence dois-je arroser mon site Herbe de para?
more
A quoi dois-je faire attention lorsque j'arrose mon site Herbe de para en fonction des saisons, des climats ou des périodes de croissance? ?
more
icon
Bénéficiez de conseils et d'astuces pour vos plantes.
Gardez vos plantes heureuses et en bonne santé grâce à notre guide sur l'arrosage, l'éclairage, l'alimentation et bien plus encore.
Télécharger l'application
close
plant_info

Plantes liées à Herbe de para

feedback
Commentaires
feedback
product icon close
Votre guide absolu sur les plantes
Identifiez et cultivez-vous de la meilleure façon !
product icon
17 000 espèces locales étudiées, et 400 000 espèces dans le monde
product icon
Presque 5 ans de recherche
product icon
Plus de 80 spécialistes en botanique et en jardinage
ad
product icon close
Continuer à lire dans notre application - c'est mieux
Une base de données de plus de 400 000 plantes
des guides illimités à portée de main...
Outil de gestion des cookies
Outre la gestion des cookies via votre navigateur ou votre appareil, vous pouvez modifier vos paramètres de cookies ci-dessous.
Cookies nécessaires
Les cookies nécessaires permettent les fonctionnalités de base. Le site web ne peut pas fonctionner correctement sans ces cookies, et ils ne peuvent être désactivés qu'en modifiant les préférences de votre navigateur.
Cookies analytiques
Les cookies analytiques nous aident à améliorer notre application/site web en collectant et en rapportant des informations sur son utilisation.
Nom du cookie Source Objectif Durée de vie
_ga Google Analytics Ces cookies sont mis en place en raison de notre utilisation de Google Analytics. Ils sont utilisés pour collecter des informations sur votre utilisation de notre application/site web. Les cookies collectent des informations spécifiques, telles que votre adresse IP, les données relatives à votre appareil et d'autres informations sur votre utilisation de l'application/du site web. Veuillez noter que le traitement des données est essentiellement effectué par Google LLC et que Google peut utiliser vos données collectées par les cookies à des fins propres, par exemple le profilage, et les combinera avec d'autres données telles que votre compte Google. Pour plus d'informations sur la manière dont Google traite vos données et sur l'approche de Google en matière de confidentialité ainsi que sur les mesures de protection mises en œuvre pour vos données, veuillez voir ici. 1 an
_pta PictureThis Statistiques Nous utilisons ces cookies pour recueillir des informations sur la façon dont vous utilisez notre site, pour suivre les performances du site et pour améliorer les performances de notre site, nos services et votre expérience. 1 an
Nom du cookie
_ga
Source
Google Analytics
Objectif
Ces cookies sont mis en place en raison de notre utilisation de Google Analytics. Ils sont utilisés pour collecter des informations sur votre utilisation de notre application/site web. Les cookies collectent des informations spécifiques, telles que votre adresse IP, les données relatives à votre appareil et d'autres informations sur votre utilisation de l'application/du site web. Veuillez noter que le traitement des données est essentiellement effectué par Google LLC et que Google peut utiliser vos données collectées par les cookies à des fins propres, par exemple le profilage, et les combinera avec d'autres données telles que votre compte Google. Pour plus d'informations sur la manière dont Google traite vos données et sur l'approche de Google en matière de confidentialité ainsi que sur les mesures de protection mises en œuvre pour vos données, veuillez voir ici.
Durée de vie
1 an

Nom du cookie
_pta
Source
PictureThis Statistiques
Objectif
Nous utilisons ces cookies pour recueillir des informations sur la façon dont vous utilisez notre site, pour suivre les performances du site et pour améliorer les performances de notre site, nos services et votre expérience.
Durée de vie
1 an
Cookies marketing
Les cookies marketing sont utilisés par les sociétés de publicité pour diffuser des annonces qui correspondent à vos intérêts.
Nom du cookie Source Objectif Durée de vie
_fbp Pixel Facebook Un pixel de suivi de conversion que nous utilisons pour les campagnes de reciblage. Pour en savoir plus, cliquez ici. 1 an
_adj Adjust Ce cookie fournit des services d'analyse et d'attribution mobiles qui nous permettent de mesurer et d'analyser l'efficacité des campagnes marketing, de certains événements et actions dans l'application. Pour en savoir plus, cliquez ici. 1 an
Nom du cookie
_fbp
Source
Pixel Facebook
Objectif
Un pixel de suivi de conversion que nous utilisons pour les campagnes de reciblage. Pour en savoir plus, cliquez ici.
Durée de vie
1 an

Nom du cookie
_adj
Source
Adjust
Objectif
Ce cookie fournit des services d'analyse et d'attribution mobiles qui nous permettent de mesurer et d'analyser l'efficacité des campagnes marketing, de certains événements et actions dans l'application. Pour en savoir plus, cliquez ici.
Durée de vie
1 an
Cette page est mieux présentée dans l'application
Ouvert

camera identify
Try for Free
tab list
PictureThis
English
arrow
English
繁體中文
日本語
Español
Français
Deutsch
Pусский
Português
Italiano
한국어
Nederlands
العربية
Svenska
Polskie
ภาษาไทย
Bahasa Melayu
Bahasa Indonesia
PictureThis
Search
Search Plants
Try for Free
Global
English
English
繁體中文
日本語
Español
Français
Deutsch
Pусский
Português
Italiano
한국어
Nederlands
العربية
Svenska
Polskie
ภาษาไทย
Bahasa Melayu
Bahasa Indonesia
This page looks better in the app
picturethis icon
Instantly identify plants with a snap
Snap a photo for instant plant ID, gaining quick insights on disease prevention, treatment, toxicity, care, uses, and symbolism, etc.
Download the App for Free
Continue Reading
about about
About
plant_info plant_info
More Info
distribution_map distribution_map
Distribution
topic topic
Care FAQ
care_scenes care_scenes
More About How-Tos
more_plants more_plants
Related Plants
pic top
Para grass
Para grass
Para grass
Para grass
Brachiaria mutica
Also known as : Parana, Giant couch, Scotch grass, California grass
plant_info

Key Facts About Para grass

feedback
Feedback
feedback

Attributes of Para grass

Lifespan
Perennial
Plant Type
Grass
Bloom Time
Summer, Fall
Plant Height
5 m
Flower Size
30 cm
Flower Color
Green
Leaf type
Semi-evergreen

Scientific Classification of Para grass

icon
Find your perfect green friends.
Plan your green oasis based on your criteria: plant type, pet safety, skill level, sites, and more.
distribution

Distribution of Para grass

feedback
Feedback
feedback

Distribution Map of Para grass

distribution map
Native
Cultivated
Invasive
Potentially invasive
Exotic
No species reported
habit
question

Questions About Para grass

feedback
Feedback
feedback
Watering Watering Watering
Sunlight Sunlight Sunlight
What should I do if I water my Para grass too much or too little?
Without proper watering, this beautiful ornamental grass will underperform. In the ground, watering issues can be solved, but In a container, too much or too little water will kill Para grass in short order. When Para grass isn't receiving the right amount of water, it may stop growing. In the case of overwatering, it will begin to display yellow leaves with brown tips. Underwatering can produce drooping leaves, weak seed head production, and browned leaves. If you suspect your Para grass has been improperly watered, the first thing to do is figure out if the problem is too much or too little. If your Para grass is getting too much water, stop watering it immediately. Sometimes it can take weeks for heavy soils to dry out, so be patient. At the first sign of new growth, test the soil for moisture and decide whether it needs more water or not. The solution for Para grass receiving too little water is even simpler: give the grasses a nice, deep drink and see if it perks up. Bearing all of this in mind, remember that a long, deep watering is always better than a lot of shallow, frequent waterings. The reason for this is that deep watering encourages grasses to grow deep roots, which makes them more drought resistant and less prone to problems from watering.
Read More more
How often should I water my Para grass?
The watering needs of Para grass will vary depending on where it is planted. Generally, you should water this grass every week. In hot climates, once or twice a week watering in the summer may be necessary. In moderate climates, watering once every seven days or more may be enough. Grass in containers almost always need more frequent watering than grasses in the ground. But with a species such as this that can thrive in full sun or part shade, the location also matters. Shaded grasses need to be watered less frequently than in-ground grasses. Para grass should only be watered when the soil is dry. If you’re unsure when to water, there are a few key signs you can use as your cue. Pressing your finger a couple of inches into the soil will tell you if the soil is dry. For a potted grass, you can weigh the grass with a portable scale to see how light it is, but you can also quickly feel when the pot is light from lack of water. Like many types of grass, the blades may appear folded along their centers and thinner than usual when the roots lack sufficient water. Despite its drought tolerance, regular, deep waterings will reward you with a beautiful color. In the wild, Para grass grows in open scrubland, where it would be subject to extreme heat, loads of bright sun, and intermittent rain. Because this grass is drought resistant, you might expect never to need to water it. But don’t let its hardiness fool you, Para grass still needs care and attention. Even though this hardy grass can handle harsh, dry conditions, gardeners agree that it thrives best with consistent water. When first planted, Para grass will need more frequent water until it has established deep roots. For Para grass in pots, the soil will dry out quickly, especially if the pot is in hot, direct sun for a large part of the day. Test the soil every 3 to 4 days and water only when it feels dry. Para grassed in the ground generally needs less watering, but that depends on the soil it is grown in. Heavy clay soil holds water for a long time and may feel dry at the surface while still retaining plenty of moisture below the ground. Sandy soils that drain quickly will need to be watered more often.
Read More more
What should I be careful with when I water my Para grass in different seasons, climates, or during different growing?
You can often tell if you are watering enough by the rate of growth of your grasses. Para grass during the hottest months of the year and has been known to double in size in a year’s time. If the weather is hot and the grass is not growing vigorously, you may need to adjust your watering schedule. In winter, you might be able to get away with watering only once a month, but you will still want to touch the soil to test for moisture. During a growth cycle (in the warmest months), the grass will need more water than usual. But during winter and cooler months, the need for water will be dramatically reduced. The most important thing to remember about Para grass is that the soil it is planted in should always be allowed to dry out completely before adding water.
Read More more
icon
Get tips and tricks for your plants.
Keep your plants happy and healthy with our guide to watering, lighting, feeding and more.
close
care_scenes

More Info on Para Grass Growth and Care

feedback
Feedback
Basic Care Guide
Transplant
24-36 inches
Transplant para grass in the window from early to late spring, the prime time for root establishment. Choose a sun-drenched, water-abundant location to mimic its natural habitat for optimal growth. Friendly note: Ensure the soil stays moist post-transplant!
Transplant Techniques
Pruning
Early spring, Winter
A tropical perennial grass, para grass thrives in wet environments and rapidly forms dense mats. Prune by cutting back to a few inches above ground level, promoting fresh growth and preventing invasiveness. Best done in early spring or winter during dormancy. Pruning combats diseases by increasing air circulation and reduces habitat for pests. Frequent trimming manages size, encourages tillering, and improves forage quality for grazing livestock.
Pruning techniques
Propagation
Spring,Autumn
Para grass thrives in warm climates and is known for its robust growth and adaptability to damp environments. Those looking to propagate para grass will find success with division, a straightforward method well-suited to this species. To propagate, simply divide the root clumps during the active growth period, ensuring each section has a portion of the root and shoots. Replant these cuttings immediately in moist, fertile soil, providing them with ample water to establish. With adequate care, the divisions will quickly take root, allowing for efficient expansion of para grass.
Propagation Techniques
other_plant

Plants Related to Para grass

feedback
Feedback
feedback
Pigeonberry
Pigeonberry
The pigeonberry is a vine-like herb that can reach heights of 40 to 200 cm. It produces a bright red berry as a fruit that is tested to be safe to consume. The juice made from these berries was once used as a dye and ink.
Common mallow
Common mallow
The common mallow is an ornamental plant with a large variety of cultivars. It has historically also been used to create a yellow dye. Common mallow seeds are shaped roughly like cheese wheels, leading the seeds (and sometimes the plant itself) being called "cheeses."
Common mullein
Common mullein
Common mullein (Verbascum thapsus) has been cultivated by farmers and gardeners since colonial times. This herb has a thick stem and leaves covered with a layer of “fur” that feels like flannel. Today, it grows wild in many areas of the U.S., including roadsides and vacant lots. Flowers of common mullein are occasionally brewed into a tea.
Asian copperleaf
Asian copperleaf
Asian copperleaf or Acalypha australis is a perennial weed with spikes of small, copper-red flowers. Once thought to be found only in the New York area, this weed has also been discovered throughout the United States.
Rose of sharon
Rose of sharon
Hibiscus syriacus is a deciduous shrub with trumpet-shaped pink, lavender, or white flowers. Although it was first collected by Western botanists from Syrian gardens, “rose of sharon” is native to south-central and southeastern China. Because of its hardiness and prolific blooming, it is cultivated all around the world. It is the national flower of South Korea, mentioned in its national anthem.
Indian coral tree
Indian coral tree
Indian coral tree (*Erythrina variegata*) is a tropical and subtropical shade tree often planted singly in wide-open landscaping areas. It flowers in spring, and its seedpods are poisonous. Indian coral tree flowers are important symbols in Sri Lankan New Year traditions and are also considered the official flower of Okinawa. The wood has economic value and is often used as a construction material.
Poison ivy
Poison ivy
In pop culture, poison ivy is a symbol of an obnoxious weed because, despite its unthreatening looks, it gives a highly unpleasant contact rash to the unfortunate person who touches it. Still, it is commonly eaten by many animals, and the seeds are a favorite with birds. The leaves turn bright red in fall. Its sister species, Western poison ivy (Toxicodendron rydbergii), is not considered to be invasive in the United States, but is noxious in Australia and New Zealand.
Pokeweed
Pokeweed
Although its berries look juicy and tempting, the fruits and the root of pokeweed are toxic and should not be eaten. Pokeweed is considered a pest species by farmers but is nevertheless often grown as an ornamental plant. Its berries can be made into pokeberry ink as well.
View More Plants
close
product icon
Continue reading in our app - it's better
A database of 400000+ plants and unlimited guides at your fingertips...
Your Ultimate Guide to Plants
Identify grow and nurture the better way!
product icon
17,000 local species +400,000 global species studied
product icon
Nearly 5 years of research
product icon
80+ scholars in botany and gardening
ad
ad
Botanist in your pocket
Scan the QR code with your phone camera to download the app
About
More Info
Distribution
Care FAQ
More About How-Tos
Related Plants
Para grass
Para grass
Para grass
Para grass
Brachiaria mutica
Also known as: Parana, Giant couch, Scotch grass, California grass
icon
Instantly identify plants with a snap
Snap a photo for instant plant ID, gaining quick insights on disease prevention, treatment, toxicity, care, uses, and symbolism, etc.
Download the App for Free
plant_info

Key Facts About Para grass

feedback
Feedback
feedback

Attributes of Para grass

Lifespan
Perennial
Plant Type
Grass
Bloom Time
Summer, Fall
Plant Height
5 m
Flower Size
30 cm
Flower Color
Green
Leaf type
Semi-evergreen
icon
Gain more valuable plant knowledge
Explore a rich botanical encyclopedia for deeper insights
Download the App for Free

Scientific Classification of Para grass

icon
Never miss a care task again!
Plant care made easier than ever with our tailor-made smart care reminder.
Download the App for Free
distribution

Distribution of Para grass

feedback
Feedback
feedback

Distribution Map of Para grass

distribution map
Native
Cultivated
Invasive
Potentially invasive
Exotic
No species reported
question

Questions About Para grass

feedback
Feedback
feedback
Watering Watering Watering
Sunlight Sunlight Sunlight
What should I do if I water my Para grass too much or too little?
more
How often should I water my Para grass?
more
What should I be careful with when I water my Para grass in different seasons, climates, or during different growing?
more
icon
Get tips and tricks for your plants.
Keep your plants happy and healthy with our guide to watering, lighting, feeding and more.
Download the App for Free
close
care_scenes

More Info on Para Grass Growth and Care

feedback
Basic Care Guide
plant_info

Plants Related to Para grass

feedback
Feedback
feedback
product icon close
Your Ultimate Guide to Plants
Identify grow and nurture the better way!
product icon
17,000 local species +400,000 global species studied
product icon
Nearly 5 years of research
product icon
80+ scholars in botany and gardening
ad
product icon close
Continue reading in our app - it's better
A database of 400000+ plants
unlimited guides at your fingertips...
Cookie Management Tool
In addition to managing cookies through your browser or device, you can change your cookie settings below.
Necessary Cookies
Necessary cookies enable core functionality. The website cannot function properly without these cookies, and can only be disabled by changing your browser preferences.
Analytical Cookies
Analytical cookies help us to improve our application/website by collecting and reporting information on its usage.
Cookie Name Source Purpose Lifespan
_ga Google Analytics These cookies are set because of our use of Google Analytics. They are used to collect information about your use of our application/website. The cookies collect specific information, such as your IP address, data related to your device and other information about your use of the application/website. Please note that the data processing is essentially carried out by Google LLC and Google may use your data collected by the cookies for own purposes, e.g. profiling and will combine it with other data such as your Google Account. For more information about how Google processes your data and Google’s approach to privacy as well as implemented safeguards for your data, please see here. 1 Year
_pta PictureThis Analytics We use these cookies to collect information about how you use our site, monitor site performance, and improve our site performance, our services, and your experience. 1 Year
Cookie Name
_ga
Source
Google Analytics
Purpose
These cookies are set because of our use of Google Analytics. They are used to collect information about your use of our application/website. The cookies collect specific information, such as your IP address, data related to your device and other information about your use of the application/website. Please note that the data processing is essentially carried out by Google LLC and Google may use your data collected by the cookies for own purposes, e.g. profiling and will combine it with other data such as your Google Account. For more information about how Google processes your data and Google’s approach to privacy as well as implemented safeguards for your data, please see here.
Lifespan
1 Year

Cookie Name
_pta
Source
PictureThis Analytics
Purpose
We use these cookies to collect information about how you use our site, monitor site performance, and improve our site performance, our services, and your experience.
Lifespan
1 Year
Marketing Cookies
Marketing cookies are used by advertising companies to serve ads that are relevant to your interests.
Cookie Name Source Purpose Lifespan
_fbp Facebook Pixel A conversion pixel tracking that we use for retargeting campaigns. Learn more here. 1 Year
_adj Adjust This cookie provides mobile analytics and attribution services that enable us to measure and analyze the effectiveness of marketing campaigns, certain events and actions within the Application. Learn more here. 1 Year
Cookie Name
_fbp
Source
Facebook Pixel
Purpose
A conversion pixel tracking that we use for retargeting campaigns. Learn more here.
Lifespan
1 Year

Cookie Name
_adj
Source
Adjust
Purpose
This cookie provides mobile analytics and attribution services that enable us to measure and analyze the effectiveness of marketing campaigns, certain events and actions within the Application. Learn more here.
Lifespan
1 Year
picturethis icon
picturethis icon
Snap a photo for planting, toxicity, culture, and disease info, etc.
Use App
This page looks better in the app
Open