主頁 城市植物 應用程式
繁體中文
English
繁體中文
日本語
Español
Français
Deutsch
Pусский
Português
Italiano
한국어
Nederlands
العربية
Svenska
Polskie
ภาษาไทย
Bahasa Melayu
Bahasa Indonesia

五葉地錦

地錦屬下的一個物種, 也稱為 爬墻虎, 五爪龍, 美國爬山虎
植物名 : Parthenocissus quinquefolia 屬 : 地錦屬

五葉地錦, 地錦屬下的一個物種
也稱為:
爬墻虎, 五爪龍, 美國爬山虎
植物名: Parthenocissus quinquefolia
屬: 地錦屬
Add to My Garden
五葉地錦 (Parthenocissus quinquefolia)

描述

五葉地錦紫黑色的漿果是許多鳥類冬季的食物來源。由於其生長速度快,因此大多被用作建築物、磚牆或石牆的覆蓋植物。它亦可用於控制岩石樁、樹樁和斜坡的侵蝕狀況。
植物類型
草本
花期
初夏
花顏色
綠色
白色
黃色
葉顏色
綠色
紅色
橘色
* 免責聲明: 請勿根據本應用程式所提供的內容資訊作出判斷。如有發現植物,切勿觸碰、切勿進食。有些植物的毒性極高,請通過正規渠道購買可食、可觸碰的植物。

基本資料

象徵意義

友誼

用途

藝術價值
葉子在秋天提供令人驚豔的色彩展示。
環保價值
它可以淨化空氣並清除空氣中的有害物質。
園藝應用
它可以作為樹籬種植,其顏色會隨季節而變化。這是一種高度觀賞植物。

五葉地錦是有毒雜草嗎?

五葉地錦在歐洲、中國和古巴被正式列為侵入性雜草,在澳大利亞被認為是一種環境雜草,在美國本土範圍之外具有“侵略性”。 五葉地錦是一種多產的雜草。它具有令人印象深刻的增長率,並且以強大的強度粘附在各種表面上。迷人的外觀、適度的要求以及快速覆蓋垂直表面的能力使這種藤蔓成為整個溫帶世界花園中的最愛。然而,這種激進的增長意味著雜草變成了一個相當大的問題。雖然五葉地錦的花小而難看,但漿果是深藍色的,具有裝飾性;它們是鳥類重要的秋季食物,但對人類和寵物有毒。

為什麽是雜草?

五葉地錦是一種落葉藤本植物,能夠適應不同的環境,且生長速度很快。它形成的茂密的覆蓋層會遮擋光線,影響其他植物的生長。原生的五葉地錦遍布伊利諾斯州,它棲息在森林邊界、圍欄、廢棄的鐵路以及建築物的牆壁,有時會干擾人們的生活。

毒性

五葉地錦結果之前的誤食風險很低。但果實成熟之後很容易吸引兒童誤食,因為它的果實和葡萄很像。它是一種毒性較低的植物,含有草酸的針晶體。這種晶體很尖銳,很容易穿透和破壞細胞,導致細胞裂解。誤食會刺激口腔和胃腸道系統,出現口腔和咽喉劇烈腫脹和疼痛、吞嚥困難、腹瀉等症狀。接觸五葉地錦流出的汁液可能會導致過敏或皮疹。另外,這種植物還可能含有其他有毒物質。據報導,食用果實可引起兒童死亡。
如果誤食或觸碰了它的果實或汁液,可以用乾淨的冷水漱口或沖洗患病部位。如果誤食後出現嚴重的中毒症狀,請立即就醫。

對動物的毒性

寵物也有可能會誤食五葉地錦的果實,引起嘔吐、流口水等症狀。它的果實對很多鳥類無毒,是許多鳥類冬季重要的食物來源。寵物少量誤食可以用水清洗它的舌頭和口腔。如果出現嚴重的中毒症狀,請送去寵物醫院。

入侵性

五葉地錦是一種入侵雜草,原產於北美東部和中部。目前已在歐洲、亞洲、非洲和澳大利亞成為歸化物種。同時它也是中國、意大利、澳大利亞等國的入侵物種。

控制及去除方式

最佳去除時間:結出果實之前
  1. 拔除:用手抓住五葉地錦的根部,將它拔出,然後清除留在土裡的根系,防止它重新生長。然後將它的纏繞莖清理乾淨。它的莖經常纏繞在其他植物上,請小心處理。
  2. 剷除:如果它長得很大,請借助工具挖出它的根系。
  3. 修剪:使用鋒利的園藝剪刀減掉它的莖,修剪的部位盡量靠近地面。
  4. 化學控制:選擇具有針對性的除草劑,多次施用能有效控制五葉地錦
  5. 燃燒:如果它沒有攀爬在其他易燃的東西上,可以用火將它燃燒。火可以作為控制這種植物的有效手段。
五葉地錦 (Parthenocissus quinquefolia) 五葉地錦 (Parthenocissus quinquefolia)
PictureThis
口袋裡的植物專家
掃描QR Code下載
Cookie 管理工具
您除了可以透過您使用的瀏覽器或裝置來管理cookies外,您也可在下方變更您的cookie設定。
必要Cookies
必要cookies有助於維持網站的核心運作。沒有這些cookies,本網站就無法正常運作。必要cookies只有在您主動變更您的瀏覽器偏好設定時才有可能被停用。
分析Cookies
分析cookies透過蒐集和回報使用者使用方式等相關資訊來幫助我們改善我們的應用程式/網站。
Cookie名稱 資源 目的 壽命
_ga Google分析 這些cookies之所以存在是因為我們使用了Google分析。它們被用來蒐集您是如何使用我們的應用程式/網站等相關資訊。這些cookies會蒐集特定資訊包含您的IP網址,您使用的裝置的相關數據,以及其他任何與您如何使用本應用程式/網站相關的資訊。請注意這些數據的處理基本上是由 Google LLC 負責,Google有可能會使用cookies蒐集有關於您的數據資料作為其公司其他用途,例如:個資分析並將這些資料與其他數據結合,比如您的Google帳戶。 更多有關Google如何處理您的數據,Google處理隱私權的做法,以及他們針對維護您的數據所實施的措施等詳細資訊,請前往此處查看。 1年
_pta PictureThis 分析 我們通過使用cookies收集有關於您使用我們的網站的方式和觀察網絡性能,並從而促進網頁的表現,我們的服務和您的體驗感。 1年
Cookie名稱
_ga
資源
Google分析
目的
這些cookies之所以存在是因為我們使用了Google分析。它們被用來蒐集您是如何使用我們的應用程式/網站等相關資訊。這些cookies會蒐集特定資訊包含您的IP網址,您使用的裝置的相關數據,以及其他任何與您如何使用本應用程式/網站相關的資訊。請注意這些數據的處理基本上是由 Google LLC 負責,Google有可能會使用cookies蒐集有關於您的數據資料作為其公司其他用途,例如:個資分析並將這些資料與其他數據結合,比如您的Google帳戶。 更多有關Google如何處理您的數據,Google處理隱私權的做法,以及他們針對維護您的數據所實施的措施等詳細資訊,請前往此處查看。
壽命
1年

Cookie名稱
_pta
資源
PictureThis 分析
目的
我們通過使用cookies收集有關於您使用我們的網站的方式和觀察網絡性能,並從而促進網頁的表現,我們的服務和您的體驗感。
壽命
1年
行銷cookies
行銷cookies會被廣告公司用來投放與您興趣相關的廣告。
Cookie名稱 資源 目的 壽命
_fbp Facebook 像素 這是一種轉換型像素追蹤技術,我們使用這項技術來設計再行銷策略。前往此處了解更多。 1年
_adj Adjust 這種cookie提供我們行動應用程式分析和服務屬性,這些資訊幫助我們測量和分析行銷策略的效能,以及本應用程式上一些特殊的事件和活動。前往此處了解更多。 1年
Cookie名稱
_fbp
資源
Facebook 像素
目的
這是一種轉換型像素追蹤技術,我們使用這項技術來設計再行銷策略。前往此處了解更多。
壽命
1年

Cookie名稱
_adj
資源
Adjust
目的
這種cookie提供我們行動應用程式分析和服務屬性,這些資訊幫助我們測量和分析行銷策略的效能,以及本應用程式上一些特殊的事件和活動。前往此處了解更多。
壽命
1年
下載

Home City Plants Application
English
English
繁體中文
日本語
Español
Français
Deutsch
Pусский
Português
Italiano
한국어
Nederlands
العربية

Virginia creeper
Add to My Garden

A species of Parthenocissus, Also known as Victoria Creeper, Five-leaved ivy, Five-finger
Botanical name : Parthenocissus quinquefolia Genus : Parthenocissus

Virginia creeper, A species of Parthenocissus
Also known as:
Victoria Creeper, Five-leaved ivy, Five-finger
Botanical name: Parthenocissus quinquefolia
Genus: Parthenocissus
Add to My Garden
Virginia creeper (Parthenocissus quinquefolia)

Description

The virginia creeper is a North American vine from the grape family that has it all - vigorous growth, fragrant flowers, decorative blue-colored berries, and leaves that turn crimson in the fall. Using small forked tendrils with adhesive pads, the virginia creeper will cling strongly to almost all surfaces. It can grow over entire walls, providing shelter and food for wildlife.
Plant Type
Vine
Bloom Time
Early summer
Flower Color
Green
White
Yellow
Leaf Color
Green
Red
Orange
* Disclaimer: Content feedback CAN NOT be used as any basis for EATING ANY PLANTS. Some plants can be VERY POISONOUS, please purchase edible plants through regular channels.

General Info

Name story

Virginia creeper
Parthenocissus quinquefolia has a strong climbing capability and is often seen covering entire walls, sometimes even enveloping an entire house. Its genus name, Parthenocissus, originates from the Greek language, meaning "virgin ivy". Now, it is more commonly known as the virginia creeper.
Five-leaved ivy
Its leaves are shaped similarly to a wide-open hand with five fingers. Furthermore, the species epithet for the plant 'Quinquefolia' means "five-leaved", which gives birth to the name, Five-leaved ivy.
Woodbine
Ordinarily, people would identify several different climbing plants as woodbine, with this being a common name for many species. However, when woodbine is referred to in North America, it is most likely the Parthenocissus quinquefolia being discussed.

Symbolism

Marriage, friendship, fidelity, tenacity, indirect progress, protection through concealment,
intellectual or athletic achievement

Usages

Artistic Value
Foliage provides a stunning show of color in the fall.
Environmental Protection Value
Purifies the air, removing toxins and other harmful impurities.
Garden Use
Virginia creeper is a deciduous woody vine commonly found in gardens. It is prized for its colorful red foliage in autumn. Its spreading habit makes it suitable for erosion control and ground cover; whilst its large leaves are good for screening. Virginia creeper is essential in pollinator gardens. Plant with flowering creepers such as Clematis or Climbing Rose for aesthetic contrast.

Is virginia creeper a toxic weed?

Virginia creeper is officially listed as invasive in Europe, China, and Cuba, is considered an environmental weed in Australia, and “aggressive” outside of its native range in the US. Virginia creeper is a weed that climbs prolifically. It has an impressive growth rate and is known to adhere to various surfaces with great strength. The attractive looks, modest demands, and the ability to quickly cover vertical surfaces made this vine a favorite in gardens throughout the temperate world. However, this aggressive growth meant that the weed turned into quite a problem. Although virginia creeper's flowers are small and unsightly, the berries are dark blue and decorative; they are an important autumn food for birds, but they are toxic to humans and pets.

Is it a Weed?

Virginia creeper is a deciduous woody vine, highly adaptive to different environments. Virginia creeper grows fast and forms a dense cover that can block the sunlight, affecting the growth of other plants. The native virginia creeper is found throughout Illinois. It inhabits forest boundaries, fences, abandoned railroads, and the walls of buildings, sometimes disrupting people's lives.

Toxicity

The risk of erroneous ingestion is low before virginia creeper bears fruit. But when the fruit matures, it is easy to attract children to eat it because its fruit is similar to grapes. With low toxicity, it contains needle crystals of oxalic acid. The crystals are sharp and can easily penetrate and destroy cells, leading to cell lysis. Erroneous ingestion can stimulate the oral and gastrointestinal system, resulting in severe swelling and pain of the mouth and throat, dysphagia, diarrhea and other symptoms. Contact with sap from virginia creeper may cause allergies or rashes. In addition, this plant may contain other toxic substances. It is reported that eating fruit can cause death in children. If eat or touch its fruit or sap, it is advised to rinse your mouth or wash the affected area with clean, cold water.
If severe poisoning symptoms occur after erroneous ingestion, consult a doctor immediately.

Toxicity in Animals

Pets may also eat the fruit of virginia creeper by mistake, causing symptoms such as vomiting and drooling. Its fruit is non-toxic to many birds and is an important food source for many birds in winter. It is advised to wash pets' tongue and mouth with water if they eat in small amounts by mistake. If pets have severe symptoms of poisoning, they need to be taken to the pet hospital.

Environmental Threats

Virginia creeper is an invasive weed native to eastern and central North America. It has become a naturalized species in Europe, Asia, Africa and Australia. It is also an invasive species in China, Italy, Australia and other countries.

How to Control it

The best time to remove is before bearing fruits.
  1. Pulling out: Grasp the root of virginia creeper by hand, pull it out, and remove the root left in the soil to prevent it from growing again. Then clean up the twined stem. Its stem often twines on other plants. Please handle it carefully. 
  2. Uprooting: If it grows very big, please dig out its roots with the help of tools. 
  3. Pruning: Use sharp gardening scissors to cut off its stem, and trim as close to the ground as possible.
  4. Chemical control: Choosing targeted herbicides with multiple applications can effectively control virginia creeper
  5. Burning: If it's not climbing on something else that's flammable, it is advised to burn it with fire. Fire can be an effective way of controlling this plant. 

Related Articles

Virginia creeper (Parthenocissus quinquefolia) Virginia creeper (Parthenocissus quinquefolia)

Scientific Classification

Botanist in your pocket
Scan QR code to download
Cookie Management Tool
In addition to managing cookies through your browser or device, you can change your cookie settings below.
Necessary Cookies
Necessary cookies enable core functionality. The website cannot function properly without these cookies, and can only be disabled by changing your browser preferences.
Analytical Cookies
Analytical cookies help us to improve our application/website by collecting and reporting information on its usage.
Cookie Name Source Purpose Lifespan
_ga Google Analytics These cookies are set because of our use of Google Analytics. They are used to collect information about your use of our application/website. The cookies collect specific information, such as your IP address, data related to your device and other information about your use of the application/website. Please note that the data processing is essentially carried out by Google LLC and Google may use your data collected by the cookies for own purposes, e.g. profiling and will combine it with other data such as your Google Account. For more information about how Google processes your data and Google’s approach to privacy as well as implemented safeguards for your data, please see here. 1 Year
_pta PictureThis Analytics We use these cookies to collect information about how you use our site, monitor site performance, and improve our site performance, our services, and your experience. 1 Year
Cookie Name
_ga
Source
Google Analytics
Purpose
These cookies are set because of our use of Google Analytics. They are used to collect information about your use of our application/website. The cookies collect specific information, such as your IP address, data related to your device and other information about your use of the application/website. Please note that the data processing is essentially carried out by Google LLC and Google may use your data collected by the cookies for own purposes, e.g. profiling and will combine it with other data such as your Google Account. For more information about how Google processes your data and Google’s approach to privacy as well as implemented safeguards for your data, please see here.
Lifespan
1 Year

Cookie Name
_pta
Source
PictureThis Analytics
Purpose
We use these cookies to collect information about how you use our site, monitor site performance, and improve our site performance, our services, and your experience.
Lifespan
1 Year
Marketing Cookies
Marketing cookies are used by advertising companies to serve ads that are relevant to your interests.
Cookie Name Source Purpose Lifespan
_fbp Facebook Pixel A conversion pixel tracking that we use for retargeting campaigns. Learn more here. 1 Year
_adj Adjust This cookie provides mobile analytics and attribution services that enable us to measure and analyze the effectiveness of marketing campaigns, certain events and actions within the Application. Learn more here. 1 Year
Cookie Name
_fbp
Source
Facebook Pixel
Purpose
A conversion pixel tracking that we use for retargeting campaigns. Learn more here.
Lifespan
1 Year

Cookie Name
_adj
Source
Adjust
Purpose
This cookie provides mobile analytics and attribution services that enable us to measure and analyze the effectiveness of marketing campaigns, certain events and actions within the Application. Learn more here.
Lifespan
1 Year
Download